Lifetime of Giving

Delaware County Board of Developmental Disabilities will proudly host our annual Lifetime of Giving Awards in March of 2019. During this event we recognize outstanding self-advocates, service professionals, and others who support individuals with developmental disabilities. Award winners can be nominated by anyone in the community.

If you feel inspired to nominate someone for an award, please click on the various award categories below to find the best fit for your nominee. To submit your nomination, simply complete the quick and easy form shown at the bottom of the page. Nominations must be submitted by Friday, February 1, 2019 to be considered for the 2019 Lifetime of Giving Awards.

For questions or help submitting a nomination, please contact Anne Miller at or 740-201-5810.

History of Lifetime of Giving

The Lifetime of Giving Awards ceremony began in 1999 in honor of Nancy Richards, who believed that people with disabilities make the best advocates for themselves to prepare for self-determination. In 2004, the ceremony expanded to honor Kathy VanBuskirk, with the Kathy VanBuskirk Outstanding Direct Support Professional Service Award. The award recognizes individuals who provide outstanding care for individuals with developmental disabilities.

Nomination Categories

Lifetime of Giving Awards Nomination Form

  • Nominee Information

  • If applicable - supervisory positions are not eligible for nomination
  • Please tell us why you would like to nominate this person for an award. You can share a situation in which the person went above and beyond what was expected of them, ways in which this person has advocated for persons with developmental disabilities or himself/herself if the nominee has a disability, or examples of how this person provides and promotes the treatment of persons with disabilities with respect, dignity, and full recognition of their equality as fellow citizens. Please limit your answer to one page.